First DUI Defense Attorney
First DUI Offense in Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Many drivers charged with drunk driving are not only just facing their first DUI arrest—they're often facing their first arrest ever. This can be an intimidating, even frightening process. Defendants aren't always sure what their options are, what penalties they're facing, and who they can rely on to protect their interests and future throughout the course of their DUI case.
At Vanover Law Firm, our legal team is well-versed in the challenges defendants face as they confront their first DUI charge. Our Fort Walton Beach DUI attorneys have successfully handled over 3,000 local DUI cases, so we are familiar with the process, the courts, and the viable options our clients might to secure a reduced or dismissed charge.
We're ready to navigate this process with you. Contact us today at (850) 999-0006 to request a free, no-obligation case evaluation to explore your options.
Florida Penalties for First DUI
Across the country, we have seen an increase in tougher DUI laws in recent years in order to deter drivers from drunk driving. Florida is no exception and, if a guilty verdict is reached, even a first-time offender can find themselves facing a multi-faceted sentence.
Penalties for a first-time DUI offense in Florida can include:
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- License revocation of at least 180 days
- Community service
- DUI school
In some extreme cases, the accused can be sentenced to up to six months in jail (this, however, is uncommon for a first offense). Because these penalties can culminate to a significant interruption of the life the accused, it is highly advised that these drivers seek capable counsel before pleading guilty. At our firm, we will thoroughly explore any viable defense options and help ensure that this charge impacts your life as little as possible.
Dismissals and reductions can be possible. If you've been arrested, contact our Okaloosa County first offense DUI attorneys at (850) 999-0006 to speak with our team today.