Domestic ViolencePut Experience On Your Side
Fort Walton Beach Domestic Violence Attorney
Understanding Florida’s Domestic Violence Laws
Domestic violence charges in Florida are considered "Domestic Violence Battery" allegations under Florida Statutes Section 741.28. These are particularly serious charges that accuse the defendant of inflicting harm on another member of their household (or a current or former romantic partner). If a guilty verdict is reached, not only does the accused face significant penalties, but could face additional family law issues, as well.
At Vanover Law Firm, we are well-versed in how damaging a criminal accusation can be in the lives of our clients. That is why we are ready to provide staunch, incisive counsel for our clients facing domestic battery charges. Our domestic violence lawyers in Fort Walton Beach understand what the stakes are in these cases and always endeavor to ensure that facts are properly scrutinized both in and outside of the courtroom.
Have you been accused of domestic violence? Call Vanover Law Firm P.A. today at (850) 999-0006 or contact us online to schedule a free consultation with our Fort Walton Beach domestic violence lawyers.
Penalties for Domestic Violence in Florida
Domestic violence is considered a first-degree misdemeanor under Florida law. In addition to the usual penalties this type of misdemeanor charge can provide, the accused is exposed to other penalties due to the assumed sensitivity of these matters.
Penalties for domestic violence charges can include the following:
- Up to one year in jail (five days required)
- Up to one year of probation
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Community service
- Batterer's Intervention Program (26-week course)
- No contact order or an injunction
For more information on these charges and what penalties you may be exposed to, call our Fort Walton Beach domestic violence attorney today. We're ready to help you explore your defense options.
Florida Domestic Violence Assault Charges
Like other states, Florida makes a distinction between battery and assault. While battery concerns physical contact between parties, assault (Florida Statutes Section 784.011) addresses verbal or physical threats of violence. Defendants who are charged with domestic violence are also often charged with some form of assault, as well.
Assault is a second-degree misdemeanor that can result in:
- Up to 60 days in jail
- Up to $500 in fines
Because assault can be charged with each alleged victim that was present for an incident, these allegations can quickly multiply in a domestic setting.
Contact Our Domestic Violence Lawyer Today
At Vanover Law Firm P.A., we understand how serious these charges can be and have extensive experience in providing a strong legal defense. If you have been charged with domestic violence and/or assault, our Fort Walton Beach domestic violence attorney is ready to help you combat these allegations.
Contact Vanover Law Firm P.A. today to get started on your defense with our Fort Walton Beach domestic violence attorney.
TestimonialsWhy People Choose to Work With Us
At Vanover Law firm, we strive to provide the best representation to our clients. Please take a moment to read what our past clients had to say about their experience with Vanover Law Firm.
“Mr. Garrett and his team did an amazing job representing me and helping me through the process. In the end I was acquitted by jury because of Mr. Garrett's knowledge and experience, couldn't be happier.”- Brandon
Our ValuesWhat Our Work Means To Us
Over 30 Years of Combined Legal Experience
Client Centered. Results Driven.
Air Force Veteran Owned Business
Free Consultations Available
Successfully Handled Over 3,000 DUIs