Fort Walton Beach BUI Attorneys
Navigating Your Boating Under the Influence Charge
If you have been arrested for boating under the influence in Okaloosa County, it is highly advised that you seek legal counsel. At Vanover Law Firm, our legal team has successfully navigated thousands of drunk driving cases over the last 20+ years -- including many boating under the influence matters. We're ready to partner with you as you confront your charge, aggressively pursue viable defense options, and ensure that your rights and interests remain an absolute priority.
Our dedicated Fort Walton Beach BUI lawyers are ready to speak with you. Call (850) 999-0006 today.
Florida BUI Laws
Florida Statutes 327.02(43) includes Florida's boating under the influence law, which is the boating equivalent of a DUI offense. Boating is a way of life here in Florida and while many boaters responsibly operate their vessel every year, not all them are aware that similar drunk driving laws apply to our waters just as they do our roads.
Boating Under the Influence Penalties
Florida Statutes 327.02(43) states that a boater can be charged with BUI when they are "affected to the extent that the person’s normal faculties are impaired" by alcohol or controlled substances. When it comes to alcohol, the same BAC (blood alcohol content) limit that applies to drivers also applies to boaters: .08%.
Penalties for a first-time BUI can include:
- Up to $1,000 in fines
- Up to six months in jail
- Vessel impoundment (10 days)
- Community service
Just like in DUI cases, BUI penalties can intensify with repeat charges or aggravating circumstances. For instance, if your first-time BUI charge involved a particularly high BAC, injury to another party, or the presence of minors, you could be facing harsher penalties. For more specific information on your charge and what our firm can do resolve this matter as favorably as possible, reach out to us at Vanover Law Firm today.
Start mounting an effective defense today. Contact us to request a free case evaluation.